How this stay-at-home mum stays sane and has fun one day at a time.

Chocolate Coconut Protein Balls of Joy

 

There are so many balls on the internet. Everywhere you turn you’ll see big ones, small ones, chocolate ones. Yet, despite the millions of recipes for energy balls online, I have failed to find the perfect balls for me. They are either too expensive, made with ingredients you can only find in the Amazonian jungle, or they taste…. like balls!

I love balls. They are protein-packed, quick to grab, filling and perfect for people with chocolate cravings. So I recently concluded that to find the perfect balls of my dreams, I would have to adapt a recipe. I chose one from Happiness is Handmade which didn’t rely on piles of expensive raw nuts and didn’t include chunks of anything. That recipe is great, but I can’t figure out how they come together without any milk at all.

Getting the right consistency was a pain in the arse, but I got there in the end after lots of swearing at my NutriBullet. Eventually I came up with balls of pure joy. They are fudgy, salty, sweet and so easy to make, even I didn’t balls them up! And that, I promise, is my last joke about balls. Here’s the recipe:

Chocolate Coconut Protein Balls of Joy

3 scoops Protein Powder (I use Clean Lean Protein and 3 scoops = 37.5g)
3 tbsp Nut Butter (I use Ceres Organics Peanut-Almond Nutter Butter)
2 tbsp Cocoa Powder
1 tbsp Honey
1 tbsp Coconut
1/2 tsp Salt
4-5 tbsp Milk (I use Soy Milky)

Add all ingredients, other than the milk, to a food processor and blitz until everything is combined. Add the milk a tablespoon at a time, blitzing until you have the right consistency. You want the mixture to be just wet enough to combine into balls, and to roll in coconut. Don’t add all the milk if your mixture is already looking wet enough. Roll the mix into teaspoon-sized balls and roll in coconut if you like. Keep the balls in the fridge for the best consistency.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

