How this stay-at-home mum stays sane and has fun one day at a time.

Introducing The Happiness Week

The Happiness ProjectWelcome to The Happiness Week, a week in which I’m theming this blog around the life-changing book The Happiness Project, by Gretchen Rubin. I’ve talked a little about the book in the past, but this week I want to go on and on about it like a raving lunatic.

I read this book on our recent family trip to Taupo. It couldn’t have been more relevant to my life and it summed up exactly how I was feeling at the time. When she wrote The Happiness Project, Rubin was a published writer living in a nice part of New York City, in an upmarket apartment with a loving husband and two great kids. She realised she was 100% happy and decided to spend a year investigating ways of being happier.

I related to her story a lot. Okay so I’m not a famous writer and a swanky-pants pad in New York couldn’t be more removed from a wee 1950s house in Mt Wellington, but I was feeling the same. Life is totally wonderful, yet there are lots of niggly little things I could eliminate which would make me happier.

Rubin’s book can’t be summed up in one little blog post (read it, read it!) but over this coming week I will illustrate how I have adapted my life after finishing this fantastic read. Starting with…

ONE SENTENCE JOURNALS

One sentence journalsYou can read more about Rubin’s reasons for starting a One Sentence Journal here. Basically she’s just like me and doesn’t remember all the nitty gritty details of her life that she so desperately wants to hold on to. I feel like this about my kids. They are growing so fast and I feel like I won’t remember half of the sweet things they do which make me laugh or tear up. I’ve always wanted to keep really thorough journals detailing everything, but I’m not kidding myself. There’s no time and I haven’t even been able to keep up their baby books.

Enter Rubin’s fresh approach and problem-solving ways. She writes a One Sentence Journal which sums up something in her day that she wants to remember. When I read this stroke of genius, I knew it was exactly what I wanted to do for the kids. So I went to Typo and got them the above notebooks. Henry’s celebrates the letter H, which he is deeply obsessed with and Annie’s has a cat on it, because she’s bonkers for cats.

The theme of my notebooks is ‘Things I loved about you when you were…’ and I plan to keep updating them as they grow. The beauty is that with only one sentence needed, I can jot down something so quickly. I still don’t manage to get a memory down every day, but whenever I get a chance, I scribble away and I feel so much better about noting the sweet moments I have with Annie and the amusing things Henry is coming up with lately.

Tune in tomorrow when I will tell a tale of a decluttering triumph that has made me super happy (The Happiness Project has a whole chapter dedicated to the pure joy of decluttering!)

4 Responses to “Introducing The Happiness Week”

  1. Adele Bryson

    Aw thats so lovely and yet I still feel lIke I would have good intentions of this and still not do it?! Urgh does that make me terrible? and Love the typo notebooks xxx

    Reply
    • kellyburnie

      You can cut yourself some slack though and just write in it every now and then when something happens you really don’t want to forget.

      Reply
  2. Anna Donald

    Such a great idea! I would just need to find a way to make it part of a routine – like just before bed or while eating breakfast or something. That’s the only way I’ve ever been able to regularly write, and I suspect the same would apply even if it’s just a sentence!

    Reply
    • kellyburnie

      I have them sitting right by my computer which is set up in the kitchen/living area so that whenever I think of something I can jot it down. Even one sentence is hard to remember to do though, I found that last week when overloaded.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

