How this stay-at-home mum stays sane and has fun one day at a time.

Haere mai spring (and spring cleaning)

Spring cleaningIf you’re reading this in New Zealand, then pat yourself on the back for surviving another winter. Your reward is to bask in the occasional sunshine of spring, all the while knowing you’re one step closer to summer. This time of year means a stereotypical spring clean in our house, especially since we’ve let things get a little loco lately.

When I started writing this post, I found myself wondering about the origins of ‘spring cleaning’ and the coolest tid bit I have to share comes from that fountain of facts, Wikipedia:

“It has been suggested that the origins of spring cleaning date back to the Iranian Norouz, the Persian New Year, which falls on the first day of spring [citation needed]. Iranians continue the practice of “khooneh tekouni” which literally means “shaking the house” just before the New Year.”

So there you have it! I’m going to perform a big hippy hippy shake at my house, where lately cleaning has taken a back seat to being sick, complaining about being sick, and pretty much letting the kids trash the place.

I’m hankering for a “deep clean” and I wanted a thorough list to cover the whole house, full of things to “tick off” for maximum satisfaction.

A Pinterest search revealed many American lists, complete with extra spaces we haven’t squeezed into our tiny house, like basements, mud rooms and pool houses. However I found one very thorough one from The Complete Guide To Imperfect Homemaking. She’s a homeschooling mum with six kids… so if she’s got time, people…

Of course I have a few other ideas for making cleaning more interesting than watching Pledge dry. I’m totally going to include:

– Beyonce songs. At full volume with a lot of booty shaking.
– Numerous bags of coffee. I might just get an intravenous drip going.
– The kids. Helping in that special way that makes all jobs take twice as long.
– My husband. I’m roping the poor bastard in whenever I can.
– Jazzy outfits. I’m thinking Sadie the Cleaning Lady headbands and some 1950s dresses and heels I can barely walk in (yeeeeeeah right!)

So that’s the plan, Stan. Here’s to baby lambs, more daylight and one more season of so-so weather before we can start crossing our fingers for a long, hot summer.

2 Responses to “Haere mai spring (and spring cleaning)”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

