How this stay-at-home mum stays sane and has fun one day at a time.

Why I Write

Why I Write
Today I’m excited to the max to be part of a blog hop called ‘Why I Write’. I was nominated by Lydia, the brains behind Always Made With Love, a really lovely blog about finding the magic in the everyday. When I read this blog, I knew I’d “met” a kindred spirit! You can read Lydia’s Why I Write entry here and without further waffle, here goes my first blog hop questionnaire!

What Am I Working On?
I’ve been blogging since February and I really love ‘writing about what I know’ which right now is parenting, as I’m a stay-at-home mum to two toddlers. I’m working on growing my audience because I’m really passionate about reaching out to other parents and hearing what they’re loving, liking and disliking about raising rascals.

Even though my career took me into marketing, my big dream is to write for a living, so I’m working on making some contacts through my blog. I’m not ready to hand in my stay-at-home-mum badge just yet, so I’m trying to find work which I can do in my “spare time”.

Outside of blogging, I am working on being a good parent and about 50 half-done projects I never find time to complete. I’m also trying to lose a handful of surplus-to-requirement kilos and I’m training for a half marathon.

How Does My Writing Differ From Others In My Genre?
Well, I hope that my writing is unique just because it’s me being me. I stay totally true to who I am when I write and I make sure every single sentence “sounds like me”. I like to think my writing is light-hearted and makes people smile.

Why Do I Write What I Do?
I never thought I’d be a person who did a blog “just” about parenting, but that was before I had kids and realised it’s a challenging and all-consuming job. When I thought about how kids were raised in the ‘olden days’ I realised there was a greater sense of community, that whole ‘it takes a village’ vibe. Then I realised that my ‘mum’ friends I’d met through ante-natal classes and Plunket truly were keeping me sane. I wanted to start a blog to connect to other parents, to create a virtual village. I don’t write because I think I have it all sorted and could win Mother of the Year. I write because I want to open up conversations and get some answers too. Now if only more people would comment on my blog posts, I’d be in heaven!

How Does My Writing Process Work?

I wait till I am on a roll and then I write as much as I possibly can before my baby girl wakes up or I have to pick up my little guy from kindy. I hate a crappy sentence so I rewrite and rewrite and rewrite until I’m happy with the result.

I often write on Friday nights when the week is done, even though it makes me feel like a bit of a saddo. My blog days are ‘themed’ so I have lists throughout my diary with topic ideas for M,T,W,T and F. I’ve been doing My Lucky Stars since February this year and I’ve never run out of ideas, but the actual writing is a bit harder. Normally because I’m too busy separating my brawling children. It’s all fun and games till somebody loses an eye, especially if the adult in charge was too busy blogging, eek.

Who’s Up Next?

 

The awesome foursome behind Tall, Short, Tiny & a Pickle.

The awesome foursome behind Tall, Short, Tiny & a Pickle.

Now I’d like to introduce another blog I love called Tall, Short, Tiny and a Pickle. Ange’s title sure caught my eye and I loved her blog design, not to mention her amusing writing. We’ve since discovered we both have sons called Henry, so she clearly has impeccable taste. Her ‘Why I Write’ entry is coming soon but there’s plenty of fine reading to be done in the meantime – click here to get started.

6 Responses to “Why I Write”

  1. lydia

    What a lovely post, thanks for sharing and joining in 🙂 We need more people in the virtual village of raising children xx

    Reply
    • kellyburnie

      Thank you so much for reading it every day, my biggest fan! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Ange - Tall, Short, Tiny & a Pickle

    I love reading this stuff – so interesting to see how other bloggers write.
    I’ve been having a good ol’ catch-up read of your posts – really enjoying it 😃
    And talk about having impeccable taste – obvs we’re both plain awesome!!
    Thanks so much for the shout out xxx

    Reply
  3. Why I Write | Tall, Short, Tiny & a Pickle

    […] Today I’m joining in with the Why I Write blog hop. I was nominated by Kelly from My Lucky Stars; Kelly writes about her adventures as a mum of two (her son has one of the best. names. ever), and the ways she organises her week-in-blogging makes me swoon! She also has the cutest bio-pic. You can read her post on why she writes here. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

