How this stay-at-home mum stays sane and has fun one day at a time.

Houston, I have a problem

The Mega Blok version of Henry enjoys his new rocket.

Most junkies have a hard time quitting and I feel for them, I really do. I’m addicted to junk shops and even though I’ve tried, I’m too legit to quit! A few weeks back I was dropping off some donations at an op shop. The kids were downright cranky and my plan was just to drop the stuff and run.

Yeah right. When we pulled in, Henry asked if we could go inside and that was all the encouragement I needed. I promised myself I would leave empty handed. Well, within seconds H-Bomb had beelined for the toy section and was running back to me with a big red rocket in his hands. I LIKE ROCKETS, he screamed.

I’d just spent the weekend de-junking the house and trying to get a handle on his ‘hoarder’ bedroom, but he looked so darn excited and it was only $3 and it was from The Early Learning Centre and well…. he really does like rockets!

Of course, like all junkies I couldn’t just ‘have a little bit’ and then quit. I ended up buying things which we could have lived without, like a bright orange t-shirt sporting a dog dressed up like a pirate.

Annie saved the day with an epic hissy fit, forcing us to leave before we’d scoured the whole shop, but I still managed to buy almost as much as we’d given away. Yes, I have a problem, but at least that rocket has provided hours of entertainment for both the kids. Even their mum got a kick out of seeing the astronaut’s living quarters, complete with a coffee machine and a bed which folds down over the toilet. Also, every time I see it I get the song Rocket Man in my head, which is always a good thing.

5 Responses to “Houston, I have a problem”

  1. Amanda Peart

    That rocket is awesome. I love the teeny tiny stuff. I also have the same problem with the siren song of op shops. Just think of the recycling aspect though, if not for op shops this stuff would go in the landfill and you’re giving money to a good cause in the proper charity shops.

    Reply
    • kellyburnie

      You’re so right, I love that the money goes to charity. A win win.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

