How this stay-at-home mum stays sane and has fun one day at a time.

P.S. I love you

Our awesome foursome has been sick this week – every single one of us! Luckily Tim and I tag teamed our sickness so that he was complaining of a sore throat (hmmm, man flu, cough) just as I was starting to feel human again.

The kids kept us up all night with their horrific hacking and crying and we felt pretty sorry for them as they longed for sleep. We weren’t quite so patient with other ‘sleep interrupters’ like the neighbours who release their yapping dog at 5.30am or the cat who almost got “sent to the farm” for peeing on my pillow in the dead of the night. (Pillow was on the floor, quite an important fact there).

Anyhoo, I got through it, as I always do and you might think that was down to a positive attitude, drinking lots of water and resting up. Well you’d be wrong. There’s only one thing which allows me to survive a week from hell and that’s COFFEE.

If I wasn’t already married, I would marry coffee. Change my name to Kelly Coffee. Spend all my time with a cup of the stuff. I would leave it important things in my will and look after it in its old age. If they suddenly discovered that coffee was terrible for your health, I don’t think I could give it up. Coffee is the thing which makes me understand what smokers are going through.

There’s no greater smell in the world than a freshly-opened bag of Hummingbird Oomph Espresso and only my children’s laughter tops the sound of that beautiful black liquid whirring into my cup. When I think about getting through having two kids 18 months apart without the support of coffee, well I could weep.

This week I got to thinking about showing my love for coffee in a permanent way. No, I’m not getting a tattoo. But I realised that while I have pictures of my parents, kids and husband up on my wall, where is the art expressing my love for coffee? Time to make amends and show all my friends how serious I am about the stuff, in a funny way of course.

Here are some my favourite arty farty prints about my favourite C word:

coffee7 coffee6 coffee1 coffee2 coffee3 coffee4 coffee5

 

6 Responses to “P.S. I love you”

  1. Meredith Street

    LOVE THESE! I might order one for above my machine. And go on, get a coffee tattoo, that would be incredible. Coffee is the only way I make it through parenting three small children alive. Seriously, it is scary to think about life without it! Loved this post 🙂 xoxo

    Reply
  2. Anna

    Ooh Kelly I am so with you! I always enjoyed a couple of decent coffees a week – until I had kids. Now woe betide anything that gets in between me and my thrice daily Nespresso! I seriously think I would give up wine before my double shot flat white.

    Reply
    • kellyburnie

      Wine would go before coffee for sure. Thank God we don’t have to choose 😉

      Reply
  3. Adele Bryson

    OMG you made me miss my caffeine reading this today so much I could weep! Love all the prints! I can not wait til I can have real coffee and wine again… loved this post xx

    Reply
  4. Amanda Peart

    I didn’t make it up but ‘life without coffee: despresso’ says it all for me. I just like the ritual of making one as much as the coffee itself too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

