How this stay-at-home mum stays sane and has fun one day at a time.

Giddy up baby

IMG_6916
My kiddywinks are lucky enough to have five older cousins, which means heaps of fun at family gatherings and lots of hand-me-downs. I like second-hand stuff, especially stuff with family history. I’m definitely not an ‘out with the old, in with the new’ type of person. So when Annie’s cousins gave her the above rocking horse, I was excited to the max. Not only had it provided hours of fun for my niece and nephews, but it was a totally blank canvas. I love me a good painting project.

Tim tightened the screws but other than that, the old brown mare just needed a lick of paint. I did the horse part a creamy white called Resene Half Pearl Lusta and the base a bright orangey pink called Resene Rapture. We glued some diamante buttons into the eye sockets which I bought many moons ago to replace buttons on my bridesmaids’ cardigans.

She still needs one more coat of Rapture on the base because (as I discovered slowly but surely over the course of the weekend) painting with a one-year-old is about as slow as watching paint dry… but anyway here is the (almost) finished result and one joyous little jockey!

Annie May's neigh neigh

5 Responses to “Giddy up baby”

  1. Adele Bryson

    Fun! i did one for my niece too – I went a bit crazy making a pink star saddle and mane etc…I like your less is more approach…much safer around kidlets as they have just about destroyed my work of art over the past couple of years lol šŸ™‚

    Reply
    • kellyburnie

      I have big plans for a saddle, but sadly absolutely no skill to do one!

      Reply
    • kellyburnie

      It’s finished now, looks really good. I’m a mission to finish projects (mainly so I can start a new one like Henry’s tee pee :))

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

