How this stay-at-home mum stays sane and has fun one day at a time.

Ones, twos and using the loo

Husband gets sick of the rigmarole of nappy changes, nags wife to start toilet training.

Husband gets sick of the rigmarole of nappy changes, nags wife to start toilet training.

Call me a drama queen, but I’ve been quite scared of toilet training. I will never forget learning in sixth form Psychology how shrinks link a person’s toilet training to psychological problems later in life. I’ll never know why this weird little titbit stuck in my mind, since I’ve forgotten almost everything I learned at 16.

Henry’s still in nappies because I was adamant I wouldn’t force the issue, despite my husband nagging me (nice bit of role reversal there) to give it a go for months. I wanted H-Bomb to show signs of readiness first so it wouldn’t feel like an endless battle. Then the loo situ changed quite dramatically in just one weekend.

Tim was changing the little dude and explaining how some ‘big boys’ he knows use the toilet. Three influential names were mentioned – George, Arlo, Thomas – and suddenly we had a keen bean heading straight for the loo for successful, yet casual, number twos! While Henry sat there beaming, his two lunatic parents went totally ape-shit, clapping and high-fiving and giving him congratulatory hugs.

Since then the Burnie bathroom has been a hive of activity, sparking the husband and I to put a whole weekend aside for some ‘intensive toilet training’. Here are some signs we think the little guy is ready:

  • He no longer changes the subject when the toilet is mentioned. He used to get quite the eye glaze going and pick something – anything – to talk about other than THAT. Now we get an interested eyebrow raise and the distinct idea that he is open for negotiation on the toilet vs nappy debate.
  • A somewhat disturbing new interest in behaving as ‘toilet attendant’ whenever I go. It’s cute but somehow I won’t miss having a toddler standing behind me, finger on the flush button, inquiring as to whether I’ve finished doing my business. This is especially problematic when he flushes before I’ve stood up.
  • He suddenly understands the link between the jar of Jelly Beans and his bathroom habits. Now I spend half my day going through the soap opera that is his attempt to get a lolly. Give this kid an Oscar because he goes super ‘method’ with his performance, attempting to fake the tinkle sound, pretending he sees the wee in there, wiping his totally dry wiener and flushing away absolutely nothing, before demanding an ‘ogange lolly please’. He can’t say orange – it’s adorable.
  • Forget our TV. There’s a new hot spot in the house getting aaaaall the attention. Often I’ll find him standing on his toilet stool, bent over the seat with his face disgustingly close to the bowl, muttering things like “Poooooooo, where are you?” Cute, but by God I need to start cleaning the toilet more often.

All in all, we think he might be ready for ‘3 Day Potty Training’ by the self-proclaimed queen of it, Lora Jensen. Apparently you can start on Friday and be done by Sunday and a couple of friends have had great success with her method, with kids even younger than Henry. Tune in next Monday for tales of toilet training wonderfully mastered. Here’s hoping!

4 Responses to “Ones, twos and using the loo”

  1. Adele Bryson

    Oooo good luck… we are still firmly in the eyes glazed over and a wee man in complete denial that anything happens in the nappy region that might need to be dealt with! Like you I have refused to push the issue.

    Reply
    • kellyburnie

      Stubborn little buggers. I’m sure your little guy will take an interest one day!

      Reply
  2. Meredith Street

    You’re on to a good thing with the relaxed attitude and I bet Henry picks it up quickly now he’s interested and you haven’t pushed it too hard – we were really lucky that our kids clearly showed the signs of readiness, so we were able to follow their lead in toilet training. They are all so different though – while our little lady, true to form, made the decision that nappies were for babies, refused to wear them and was toilet trained in a day or two, the little gentleman took a lot longer for his body to catch up with his very genuine desire to be a big kid and go on the toilet. I’d say it probably took three months for him to be completely TT’d, due mainly to being super easily distracted by any fun activity going, leaving it to the last minute to dash to the loo (and leaving a trail of wee behind him, praise the Lord for wooden floors!) and just being a little bit lazy and not caring all that much about wet undies. We were seeing enough progress in that time though to not stress about it at all or force the issue – that said, its probably one of my least favourite stages of parenting thus far and I’m not particularly looking forward to going through it again with the littlest Street. Cleaning up undie’s with poo in them is a whole new level of maternal dedication, haha! xoxo

    Reply
    • kellyburnie

      Undie poos are the worst! And wooden floors are the best. Agree wholeheartedly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

