How this stay-at-home mum stays sane and has fun one day at a time.

What’s cooking?

Good lawd, you will have to excuse my terrible attempt at food photography - Homemade Chicken Nuggets

Good lawd, you will have to excuse my terrible attempt at food photography – Homemade Chicken Nuggets

I can’t believe I haven’t shared any recipes yet. I haven’t even really talked about food even though I bloody love the stuff. I love to bake quiiiite a bit, but I have reigned in the madness a little since I’m trying to lose weight. I like cooking too and I try new recipes a few times a week, normally from my go-to places: the Healthy Food Guide website, Jamie Oliver cookbooks and Pinterest.

I thought I’d share two recipes for kids today, starting with a meal we just invented that Henry actually ate with enthusiasm (a rare occurrence at our dinner table).

Homemade Chicken Nuggets (inspired by G-Ram)

The other night on the telly Gordon Ramsey made some seriously good-lookin’ fried chicken so Tim and I used his recipe to create homemade chicken nuggets. Take chicken breasts cut into nugget-sized chunks (or use chicken tenderloins) and coat in flour, then egg, then the following delicious breadcrumb mix:

  • A few slices of multigrain bread blitzed with a stick blender (I keep crusts in our freezer because  homemade breadcrumbs give so much more texture and flavour)
  • 1-2 teaspoons of garlic salt, depending on how much you love garlic and salt
  • 1 tablespoon of smoky paprika
  • A pinch of cayenne pepper (optional but just a bit gives a lovely little kick that the toddler seemed to like)

Cook the lil nuggets at 180C for 15 minutes and serve with some yummy salad. We took Pak ‘n’ Save’s Herb Slaw and added a little zesty dressing made out of lite mayonnaise, the juice of one lemon, 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil, 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard and some black pepper.

Banana Bran Muffins with Wheat Germ and Linseed

These healthy muffins are adapted from this recipe. I added wheat germ and ground linseed, halved the amount of sugar and took out the salt, chocolate chips and walnuts because I’m no fun at all.

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup mashed ripe bananas, (2 medium)
  • 1/2 cup of plain yoghurt and 1/2 cup of milk (replacing buttermilk)
  • 1 cup mix of bran, wheat germ and ground linseed (I do 1/2 cup of brain and 1/4 cup of the other two)
  • 1/4 cup canola oil (or olive oil)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup plain flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Whisk eggs and brown sugar in a medium bowl until smooth. Whisk in bananas, yoghurt, milk, bran mix, oil and vanilla.

Whisk whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon in a large bowl.

Make a well in the dry ingredients; add the wet ingredients and stir with a rubber spatula until just combined. (Don’t stress if you have a toddler helping and they want to mix it to buggery, as Henry always does this and they still come out tasting delish.)

Bake the muffins until the tops are golden brown and spring back when touched lightly, 15 to 25 minutes at 180C.

3 Responses to “What’s cooking?”

    • kellyburnie

      Yay, a few people are making them tonight. I hope they are a great success!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

